Computational Fluid Dynamics Group

David G. Foster, Ph.D.
Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Rochester

Link to Group Meeting Details


Our goal is to apply Computational Fluid Dynamics to modern problems in engineering

Current Projects:
1. Energy: Modeling Liquid Metal Batteries, Fuel Cells and Molten Salt Reactors
2. BioTransport: Drug Delivery, Flow in Complex Geometries (Carotid Artery and Kidneys)
3. Fundamentals: Flow in Gas/Liquid systems, Transition flow, Non-Newtonian Flow

 

David G. Foster, Ph.D.
4003 Wegmans Hall

david.foster@rochester.edu

 

 


Group Members

Amanda Forti
aforti@u.Rochester.edu

Current Project: Modeling flow in the Carotid Artery

  Ben Gleed
bgleed@u.Rochester.edu
Current Project: TBD

Haberly Kahn
hkahn@u.Rochester.edu

Current Projects:

Liquid Metal Batteries

Anna Kopp
akopp@u.Rochester.edu
Current Project: Modeling biotransport systems
Joey Melena
jmelena@u.Rochester.edu
Current Project: Liquid Metal Batteries

Annie Moorhead
amoorhe2@u.Rochester.edu

Current Project: Modeling glass and ceramic materials

  C. J. Ruff
cruff2@u.Rochester.edu
Current Project: Modeling Liquid Metal Batteries
Paul Steve
psteve@u.Rochester.edu


Current Projects
(1) Transition flow in mixing
(2) Flow of gas bubbles of different sizes through liquids

Greg Sheppard
gsheppar@u.Rochester.edu


Current Project: Modeling Liquid Metal Batteries

Anna Weldy
aweldy@u.Rochester.edu

Current Project: Modeling flow in the Carotid Artery

 





GROUP ALUMNI

Shuyuan Xu, Current Position: SPX Mixing, Rochester, NY, where he is modeling using CFD.
Jennie Ford, Current Position: Graduate student at UC Berkeley (Pharmaceutical Engineering)
Josh Jachuck, Current Position: Scientist-I at The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson
Maddie Laitz, Current Position: Masters Student at Imperial College London, Ph.D. candidate at MIT
Brandon Newman
Jeff Weinfeld, Current Position: PhD candidate at University of Texas at Austin
Jim Weitzel
Beiming Tang
, PhD Candidate at University of Iowa
Dominick Salerno, PhD Candidate at Johns Hopkins University

Back Home

© David G. Foster
Department of Chemical Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627



 
Site Meter